Administration and Finance Department

VillageHallCupola-11The Village has operated under the council-manager form of government since 1914. Glencoe was the first community in the State of Illinois, and the fourteenth nationwide to operate under this form of government. 
Department OverviewThe Department of Administration and Finance is responsible for providing overall direction and administration of policies and programs established by the Village President and Board of Trustees, and coordinating activities of the Village’s operating departments, including oversight of the development of the
annual budget as well as implementation of the Village’s Strategic Plan and other operating plans approved by the Board of Trustees. Oversight of all day-to-day operations of the Village is the responsibility of the Village Manager. Likewise, the Village Manager is also appointed as the Village Clerk.

Divisions within the department include Administration, Legal Services, Boards and Commissions, Finance, Human Resources, Information Technology and Risk Management. The department also includes the Village Clerk function including maintenance of Village records, responding to Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)
requests, accounting, communications, utility billing, accounts receivable, payroll, accounts payable and providing support to Village Boards and Commissions.  
Key Staff
Nikki Larson, CPA, CPFO, SPHR Deputy Village Manager/Chief Financial Officer (847) 461-1108 nlarson@villageofglencoe.org
Margaret Schwarz, CPPB Assistant Chief Financial Officer (847) 461-1105 mschwarz@villageofglencoe.org
Sharon Tanner, SPHR, ICMA-CM Human Resources Director (847) 461-1103 stanner@villageofglencoe.org
Mario Gil Technology and Strategy Manager (847) 461-1131 mgil@villageofglencoe.org
Sammy Hanzel Communications Manager (847) 461-1104 shanzel@villageofglencoe.org
Neringa Shapiro Billing Services Coordinator (847) 461-1110 nshapiro@villageofglencoe.org