Sustainability Task Force


New! Donation and Recycling Drop-Off Day 

10 a.m.-1 p.m., Saturday, October 5
325 Temple Court (South of Public Works Garage)
Download flyer

The Sustainability Task Force has partnered with the Village to bring a special Donation and Recycling Drop-off Day to Glencoe the week prior to the Semi Annual Clean-Up Day on Saturday, October 12. Instead of placing items that could be recycled or donated at the curb to be taken to the landfill, please consider bringing your unwanted items to the drop-off from 10 a.m.-1 p.m. on Saturday, October 5 at 325 Temple Court (just south of the Public Works Garage). 

Accepted items: Paint, electronics, styrofoam blocks, styrofoam peanuts, small furniture, bikes, textiles, batteries and books

Want to donate large furniture? Schedule an in-home pickup online at www.chicagofurniturebank.org (Monetary donations requested)

Check back as more accepted items may be added. Looking to recycle or donate something specific? Contact Interim Staff Liaison Megan Meyer at mmeyer@villageofglencoe.org to make a request.

Task Force Overview

Since its beginning in April 2016, the Sustainability Task Force has focused on raising awareness of sustainability efforts already taking place throughout our community. The first activity was to develop an inventory of what Glencoe government agencies, organizations and businesses have done so far. The Task Force will update that list periodically, but it already provides a very positive example of what is possible right here at home, from rain gardens that reduce flood risks, to solar panels that diminish heating and cooling costs, to geothermal energy that reduces our carbon footprint and more.

The Sustainability Task Force also will be putting together a sustainable project clearinghouse." This will be a database of local projects to help other Glencoe residents green their own homes. Based on completed projects, the information will offer encouragement and resources for doing similar activities, from gardens, to low-flow fixtures, insulation, thermal windows, solar panels and beyond.

From the simple to the more complex undertakings, the Sustainability Task Force will
 be able to learn from our experienced Glencoe neighbors. The Task Force will be recommending other events and activities to facilitate Glencoes enhanced sustainability into the future.

Upcoming Sustainable Events in Glencoe

Numerous Glencoe residents, organizations and governmental bodies have engaged in substantial sustainability practices for many years, from natural resource and financial perspectives. The Sustainability Task Force strives to assist these activities by governmental bodies and promote sustainability events in the community. 

Development of the Glencoe Sustainability Task Force

Since 2009, the Village of Glencoe has conducted a number of activities related to sustainability including agreements to share resources between units of government and reduce costs, as well as:

  1. A Sustainability Study in 2009 by the Contextual Design Review Commission;
  2. A review in 2010 by the Plan Commission of the "Recommended Strategies" and "Next Steps" included in the Sustainability Study;
  3. Hosting by the Plan Commission of meetings of public bodies and community groups to share sustainability initiatives, polices and practices;
  4. Formation of the Sustainability Working Group in 2011 to assist the Village in advance sustainability initiatives in the community, whose final report was finished in 2013, including a recommendation to create a more formal advisory body;
  5. Creation of the Glencoe Sustainability Task Force in April 2016 to discuss, analyze and recommend responsible sustainability initiatives to the Village Board.

Sustainability Task Force Members 

Hall Healy, Chair
Peter Mulvaney, Village of Glencoe Trustee, Vice Chair
Gray Drobny, Public-at-Large
Sandy Culver, Public-at-Large
Lisa Fremont, Public-at-Large
Ashley Kain Silver, Glencoe School Board 
Dudley Onderdonk, Glencoe Park District Board
Cathering Procopi, Public-at-Large
Larry Reilly, Public-at-Large
Elsabe Schimmelpenninck van der Oije, Public-at-Large
Jennifer Varela, Public-at-Large